Summerlin Dress

http://kathrynivy.com/patterns/free/summerlin/

I had loads of fun making this dress! Thanks to Kathryn Ivy for posting this free pattern.

It only took me a few hours to knit up the bodice. Which translates to getting that done in 3 days! Plus another hour to finish the dress. I repurposed an old tshirt I had laying around instead of sewing that part from scratch – that saved a lot of time. I simply cut the bottom of the tshirt off, gathered and sewed the front of the fabric to the front of the knitted bodice. I added elastic to the back of the tshirt, a few  buttons and voila! 5 hour dress.

Here are a few pictures of my DS enjoying her new dress.

 

It’s a bit of a mix between the summerlin pattern and this one http://www.makeit-loveit.com/2011/02/repurposing-shirt-into-skirt-with-yoga.html – which I am going to make next! I am digging through my drawers for a suitable shirt –  and voila presto chango, it will turn into a cute skirt.

This project is suitable for beginners, I learned how to sew about 15 minutes before making this dress…so you can do it too!

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY

Leave a Reply

